Finally Famous

Finally Famous

You guys I’m finally famous. Kind of… Not really… But being here might be the closest I get to experiencing that life.

The other day we took our first trip into the city (Angat). Before we came here, I was told that me being a 6’4” black guy with an afro would get a little bit of interest from the kids. What an understatement. We rode trikes, which are basically a small motorcycle with a sidecar attached, into the city and I’m too big to fit inside. So I got to stand on the back. I am not exaggerating when I say that I had every single eye in the city locked in on me and my hair. There were people driving on the other side of the road who, with total disregard for public safety, turning around to stare. Kids eye would light up with joy (sometimes fear) and one even followed me around for 5-10 minutes. In the village, one of the elderly ladies starting dancing as soon as I walked in her store. Leading to her and a friend asking to pet me. I’ve had a truck of people take out their phones to record me, and I can’t walk through the GK village without little kids wanted to treat my hair like a jungle gym. Let’s just say, that my ego was definitely bigger than the fro itself.

 

Full-body massages were 400 pesos ($8 USD), and you can actually have someone come to your room and give you a massage. I also met someone in the village named Laurence. I don’t know what it is about him, but I like that kid. I guess that power just comes with the name. We have a pool with a beautiful mountain view right next to our rooms. Ugh, what else? I wish I had been writing everything down as we go because there is just way too much to take in. Yesterday a couple of us interns got to go on a day trip to the breathtaking Ta’al Volcano. That night we ended up on the Manilla Strip and the big city got a nice introduction to Laurence Henderson. I can tell that thisIi going to be an exciting two months filled with hard work, relationship building, heat stroke, good food, and lasting memories. I feel like I could write a book on everything we’ve done so far and it’s only been a week. But I will spare you the small details and keep this one short and simple.

Maybe I can become a Filipino hair model or something.

 

Update: The next post will include my current projects and research that I am conducting.

One thought on “Finally Famous

  1. You are fantastic and your haaiirr definitely has a life all it’s own!! So proud of your achievements and accomplishments and it’s so great getting to live vicariously through you!! Take care of you!! XOXO 😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

